WIP Wednesday: Christmas Knitting

I’m in the thick of Christmas knitting this week. The last grab bag I got from Wollmeise had a skein of yarn in Ravens colors, and I knew I had to use it to knit something for my nephew, who is a huge fan. I’m tinkering with the numbers on Podster Gloves to make them fit a 10-year-old’s hands. If I get too close on time, I might have to leave the convertible part off or give him one finished mitt to make sure it fits before I finish the other one.

I was looking for a hat pattern that would work with the color patterning in the yarn, and someone on Ravelry suggested Rayonnante sur le Tapis Rouge. It turns out that the designer was looking for knitters to test the English translation of the pattern. Perfect! You knit the brim sideways first, then pick up stitches along the edge to knit the crown. The brim doesn’t look like much so far, but it will look better once I graft the ends and pick up for the crown. And block it–blocking works wonders.

IMG_0761

The dark colors are actually purple and black. I need to work on taking better in-progress pictures, but it’s hard to get decent shots when it gets dark so early. I’m usually at the mercy of the lighting in my kitchen.

The hat for my cousin’s son is on hold since the projects for my nephew are due first. BUT…I found out at Thanksgiving that we’ll be celebrating Christmas with that part of the family on the 27th, so I don’t have as much time as I thought. Time for me to get off the computer and get knitting!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

