It Really Is the Thought that Counts

Today’s Daily Prompt email from WordPress asked us to write about pie. I’m not going to write about pie per se, other than to say that my favorite pie is pecan, followed closely by peach. What I am going to write about is one of the best Christmas gifts I’ve ever received and why it was such a great gift. And yes, it involves pie.

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve had trouble with any kind of baking that involved rolling out dough: sugar cookies folded up like an accordion when I tried to get a spatula under them, pie crusts wound up the wrong size and an uneven thickness, you get the idea. Being from Cape Cod, one of my ex-husband’s comfort foods was sea clam pie. The clams, known as quahogs, are ground up in the blender, mixed with some other ingredients, and baked in a double-crust pie. His mother would often send us back from visits with containers of ground sea clams so I could make the pies all year. There was only one obstacle-the crust. Yes, I could buy premade pie crusts, but there really is nothing like homemade.

Enter my ex-sister in law. As a perennially broke college student, she had a miniscule Christmas budget, so she had to get creative. Her gift to me one year was a box of homemade pie crusts, already formed in foil pans, for me to keep in the freezer until I needed them. Yes, the gift probably cost her about $7, but you know what? It was one of the most thoughtful gifts I ever got.

Some people would turn their nose up at a gift like that because it wasn’t the latest electronic gadget or designer label whatever. Not me. The fact that she paid attention and made me something I wouldn’t or couldn’t make for myself meant more to me than any amount of money she could have spent. I couldn’t tell you any of the other gifts I got that year, but 20 years later, I remember those pie crusts. She showed me that it really is the thought that counts.

What’s the most thoughtful gift you’ve ever given or received?

6 Comments

  1. I love every part of this story: that your favorite pie is pecan (fist bump), that your husband’s comfort food is quahog pie (I never knew there was such a thing!), and that your ex-sister in law gave you pie crusts for Christmas. That’s the best idea ever! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

  2. I didn’t know there was a quahog pie either. I am with you…I’m a good cook, but pie crusts…never, ever turn out as perfect as I would like. They are always uneven, and almost always pieced together where I have made holes trying to make the crust perfect. You sister-in-law’s gift…if I COULD make piecrusts I would consider making these my gifts this year too. 🙂

  3. I loved reading that … thoughtfulness, mindfulness are the keys to a contented life in my opinion. And for me – the most thoughtful gift of my life was at my poorest with 3 young daughters, no husband and a new baby. Another girl. We had clothes and clothes and clothes but the gift that my wealthy friend bought was an industrial sized box of disposable nappies so that I didn’t have to sluice out the terries for a while and a huge box of every fruit imaginable so the girls could help themselves to the good stuff. I’ve never forgotten it – the baby is now 19 year old 🙂

Leave a Reply

