Why I Signed up for NaBloPoMo

You’ve probably heard of NaNoWriMo. Well, now there’s NaBloPoMo, where participating bloggers aim to post to their blogs every day for the month of November. Now you’re probably wondering why I, who has written just a handful of posts since I started this blog, decided to join the madness fun.

I’ve been thinking lately about this blog and why I write so infrequently, even though I have a list of things to write about. It’s not like I can’t write; I’m a technical writer, so I spend my days writing. That might actually be the problem. I’m a lot more comfortable writing in that style than I am writing casually or creatively. When I sit down to write a blog post, I feel self-conscious about my writing and start to freeze up. I’ve written plenty of posts in my head, but they never seem as good when I see them on the screen.

Which brings me to NaBloPoMo (how do you say that anyway?). My hope is that pledging to post every day will make me get over my feelings of awkwardness and just write. Maybe once I make it a habit, I will be able to write without agonizing over every sentence. Stay tuned to see if I can pull it off!

7 Comments

  1. I did NaNoWriMo last year. I was terrified of writing fiction in the beginning on it. It took me hours to get my daily word goal met. I got faster every day, though. I actually ended up finishing a week early. Practice is the only way to make anything easier.

Leave a Reply

